top of page
Search
Writer's pictureBeulah Moses

Cake topper

Hello everyone,

It's nearly summer here in the UK. The weather is absolutely gorgeous and we are making the most of it. I hope the weather is good where you are and if it isn't, just make the most of it. Crafting always gets me through dreary weather.

Today, I wanted to do a short tutorial on how to make this simple and pretty cake topper. I made this recently for my son's birthday and it added that extra pop to this simple cake.

For this project, you will need the following materials:

You will need cardstocks in your colours of choice. Your base cardstock should be the thickest and you will want to cut out at least 2 of these depending on how thick and sturdy you want your topper to be. As you can see on my topper, the predominant colour is blue so I cut out my top layer in blue.

Here are the cardstocks I used and their weights. These are all from papermill direct. I have added links so you can find them easily. I am on the design team of papermill direct but I don't work for them and I am not being paid to share their products.

You will need your cricut machine to design your topper text. You will need to choose your text and arrange them in the way that suits you best. You can see I added a football template and I found this on the cricut image library which you will need to pay a monthly subscription for but they had a one-month free offer and I took advantage of this. You can also find free SVG templates on the internet and there are also websites where you can buy them at very little cost.

Once you have chosen your text and arranged them to your liking, duplicate them maybe 2 or 3 times, depending on how thick you want your topper to be. I duplicated mine 3 times. Now the top of your cake topper needs to be welded together on design space so that your letters fuse together. It does not matter too much if the other layers are not welded together but if your want to weld all the other layers as well then do so.


Next, send your finished designs to be cut on the machine and once you have them all laid out, it's time to assemble them.

I started assembling my topper from the back so that the front of my topper would have a smooth finish. Take your top layer which in my case is the all blue layer and turn it over. Then apply a thin layer of glue all around the back of your top layer. Do this quickly so that it doesn't dry out. Now gently apply one of your base layers to the back of your top layer so that everything is aligned as much as possible. You will need your tweezer for this. Do the same for the other base layers depending on how many you made. Allow to dry for a few minutes.


Now turn over your topper. Remember the top layer is all blue. In my case, I wanted the 'is' to be sparkly red and the football to be all black. This is why I made extra layers of the 'is' and the football. These will have to be applied from the front. Once dried, turn around again and use your glue gun to attach the skewers, one on either end. Attach them in such a way that they also help to hold the entire topper together. That's it!


I hope you will give this a go. If you have a cricut machine or any cutting machine, put it to use and make a topper yourself. If you want to find out more about how to create your text on design space, send me a DM on Instagram. My handle is @beulahpapercreations. If you do give this a go, please share on IG and tag me.

Have fun making your topper.

Bloomingly yours

Beulah xx




13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page