top of page
Search
Writer's pictureBeulah Moses

3D paper heart flowers

Hello beautiful people. How are you all doing? This post is going out on a Thursday. It's my favourite day of the week because it's one weekday when I get to do some of the things that make heart sing and right now I am in the middle of creating quite a few Christmas crafts to keep the Christmas spirit alive because trust me we sure do need plenty of Christmas cheer this year.


It looks like we will not be able to enjoy the freedoms we are accustomed to this Christmas because of this horrible pandemic but I have made up my mind to pour my energy into ensuring that my home is as festive as possible. What about you? Have you started thinking about and planning for Christmas?

Autumn is finally here and with it comes the beautiful spectrum of colours which the leaves turn into. The different shades of red, purple, yellow, blue, orange, magenta and brown are so breathtakingly beautiful. I decided to welcome this beautiful season with this lovely 3D heart flower tree display. I looove looove the effect these paper hearts create when you take the time to arrange them into these lovely swirls, curls and coils that create a stunning but simple piece of art work that can be used in a frame for wall decor, on a greeting card or as the cover of a wedding guest book.

 

Below is a list of what you will need:

  • various colours of card stock with weight ranging from 120gsm to 180gsm. You don't want your paper too light or too hard either. The choice of colour is up to you depending on the theme you are going for.

  • Heart punches of about 3 or 4 different sizes or a cutting machine if you have one. You can also cut these by hand with a scissors but this will take up more time and there will be inconsistencies in sizes.

  • Glue or double sided tape

  • Scissors

  • Scoring tool e.g. bone folder (optional) check out my last post to see what they look like

  • Acrylic glitter gems (optional)

  • compass (optional)

  • scissors

  • foamboard

 

Method

  1. Because I wanted a perfectly rounded display, I cut out a round base which you can do with a compass and scissors but you can also cut out any shape you fancy e.g. heart, butterfly etc.

  2. Next I cut out the outline of a leafless tree on my cutting machine or any outline you want. There are free templates for these online.

  3. Place your circular outline on your chosen surface - in my case I am using foam board.

  4. Next, place your leafless tree in the center of the circle.

  5. Fold all your hearts into perfect halves and if you have a scoring tool, score the fold so that it is sharp.

  6. Next begin placing the hearts as shown in the images to form a flower around the gemstone.

  7. I have used 8 hearts for each flower and to ensure that the flowers are well placed, I first create 4 hearts facing north, south, east and west making sure they are evenly placed and facing the opposite direction to each other.

  8. Once this is done, place 4 more hearts in the NE, SE, SW and NW positions.


9. You can make full flowers or half flowers. Also place hearts of various sizes in random order around the circular outline making sure that it stays within the circle so that the shape is retained.

10. You want to cover the tips of the branches so that it looks like leaves on branches.

11. Make sure that you place your hearts in ways that look aesthetically pleasing.

12. Continue placing hearts in this way until most of the surface is covered.

I had so much fun making this and I hope you too will give it a go. If you do, please do tag me using the hashtag #makingmemorieswithbeautifulblooms or #beulahpapercreations or use the forum on the blog to share your work. You do need to become a member though and it's easy and costs nothing. Just click on the members tab on the top right hand corner and register.


If you have found this of any value and know someone who might enjoy this, please share it with them so we can all work together to elevate the art of paper floristry and help make memories with beautiful blooms. Any questions please ask away. Although I serve you new blog posts every fortnight, I am available for a chat or if you have any questions. Just click on the social icons to hook up or send me an email.


stay blessed

bloomingly yours

Barbara (aka Beulah)





25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page