top of page
Search
Writer's pictureBeulah Moses

A CHRISTMAS LIKE NO OTHER!

Hello everyone it's nearly the weekend. A bit of a downer for me this week though. I found out that the The Creative Craft Show Simple Christmas has been cancelled. I was so looking forward to attending this year. It would have been my first #Christmas #craft show and it is usually the biggest craft event in the autumn calendar with lots of big label names selling and revealing new products and new craft ideas. Anyway not much I can do about that so let's move on.


Can you believe it's just about 8 weeks to Christmas😲? I know what this time of year is usually like for most of us - opportunity to have a great time with family and friends, give gifts, meet people we don't get to see very often, eat, drink and dance to our hearts content. Sadly though, it doesn't look like this Christmas will be like all our other ones and I'm sure we all know why, so I won't even give it space on my blog by mentioning it!


Seeing as things are going to be different this year, we must make the most out of it as best we can and so for the next couple of weeks, I will be sharing some Christmas themed craft ideas which should:

1. keep you and the kids busy should you find that you have to go into isolation,

2. keep the Christmas spirit up and

3. provide you with something you can be proud of and can use to decorate your home without having to spend too much.


In my last blog post, I set the scene by welcoming autumn with a winter themed 3d paper heart flower tutorial. Do check it out as it might provide further inspiration as you plan your Christmas décor this year.

 


Here's what you need to make these lovely and playful photo props:

  1. Templates - I got these templates from a fantastic website called design bundle . Ofcourse if you are a pro at creating SVG cut files, you can go ahead and make your own files and that means you have absolute creative freedom to do what you want. But It saves me time if I can find what I want without the need to re-invent the wheel. If you don't have a cutting machine, you can cut the templates out by hand after tracing them out on your chosen card stock. You can also draw your own template.

  2. Red Plain Card 160gsm

  3. Forest Green Cumbria Colour Card 270gsm

  4. White Card Super Smooth 300gsm

  5. Black Bowston Plain Card 290gsm

I get most of my cardstock from papermill direct


You will also need:

  • skewers or thin dowel

  • 6mm ribbons (optional)

  • craft gemstones (optional)

  • glitter (optional)

  • glue gun

  • glue stick

  • white pompoms (optional)

  • craft knife


Once your templates have all been cut out on your chosen colour card either on the machine or by hand,(I double backed them using the 290gsm black Bowston card so that each prop is very sturdy) you can begin to embellish them as you like e.g. adding glitter, gemstones and pompoms to any of the props.


Use your kitchen knife or a craft knife to neatly cut off the sharp ends of the skewers, then attach each skewer to your prop using your glue gun to secure them firmly. For some of the props you will have to attach the skewers at an angle e.g. the glasses and hats so that they don't get in the way when using them.


Another thing I did was to neatly cover the back of the props where the skewers are attached with another layer of cardstock so that the skewers do not show and it will also act as extra support. Wrap your 6mm ribbons around your skewers with glue gun.


And there you have it. Simple, festive props to add extra enjoyment to the Christmas celebrations. As always, please share your work with me by tagging me on my social media channels. Just follow the links below or use the forum on the blog to share your work. You do need to become a member though and it's easy and costs nothing. Just click on the members tab on the top right hand corner and register.


If you have found this of any value and know someone who might enjoy this, please share it with them. Any questions please ask away. Although I serve you new blog posts every fortnight, I am available for a chat or if you have any questions. Just click on the social icons to hook up or send me an email.


stay blessed

bloomingly yours

Barbara (aka Beulah)


17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page